Dakota

I was ready and due for a photo adventure but wasn’t sure where I would go.  My wife’s uncle Vince happened to have passed away a few days earlier. We weren’t all planning to go up to NW Minnesota at first and decided that we would make arrangements so that we could all get up there.  I decided to add a photo adventure up in that part of the state and would depart from the funeral.  My wife and two year old went back home with Grandma & Grandpa and my son and I then headed out on our adventure.  I wasn’t exactly sure where we would be going or where we would stay that night, but that is part of the fun of it for me.  I wasn’t heading towards Dakota completely blind regarding a place to stay for the night, I had done a bit of research on the internet before we left and found a town that was named after James J. Hill – named Hillsboro.  I wasn’t sure what to expect from this town, but it’s motto had something to do with hospitality so I figured it had to be good.

Our adventure began across the street from where the funeral had been.  There was a county courthouse there with a WWI statue in front of it.  I was on the lookout for veterans memorials to add to my library for a book that I’m working on, so this was the perfect way to start.  The memorial was pretty unique from what I’ve seen around the state.  It was a WWI soldier statue, standing on a tall base.  The base had four sides and each of those sides had plaques for memorials to veterans of other wars.  It stood in front of the historic court house building.  Gunnar helped by suggesting different angles to shoot from.  I really enjoy having him with to help me out.

2 thoughts on “Dakota

Leave a Reply

