Put First Things First

Last Summer I had the opportunity to travel to Washington, D.C. with my son as a chaperone for his 8th grade Social Studies trip. It was a memorable trip and I’m so glad that I was able to join.  The Third Habit, “Put First Things First” is about one’s purpose, values, roles and priorities.  ‘First Things’ are those things that we determine are the most important things to us.  It is in how we organize and manage time according to our personal priorities.

This is a lot of what this blog is focused on…finding a balanced existence between family life and the pursuit  of photography.  As a chaperone on this D.C. trip I was able to combine my roles as dad and photographer.  I was able to document this once-in-a-lifetime experience with my camera and experience the the excitement of my son as he did his first travel involving riding in an airplane!  While it didn’t work out for my son to get a window seat on this trip, I will make every effort to make that happen the next time we fly.  The purpose of this trip was to expose the students to all the history in our nations capital.  We saw so many amazing things in such a short amount of time.  There were several spots where I could have spent much more time than we did, to really soak it all in, but we were on a pretty tight schedule in order to see as much as possible.  This really forced me to make some really quick decisions about what I wanted to get photos of, and that was a good exercise.  I tried to include my son in pictures of really memorable places, he was a good sport about it. I tried to get images of him with his classmates, of all the various memorials and famous quotes as seen in this image.  Most of the time though I was just enjoying the moment and talking with my son about what we were seeing.  It was a great bonding experience that the images would help record for a lifetime of memories.

http://jgrammondphotography.smugmug.com

Twitter: @JGrammondPhoto
IMG_1381

Leave a Reply

