The Battle of Gettysburg: 150 Years Later

IMG_8370

I was sitting at the kitchen table one evening working on some photo editing when I got the call.  It was my good friend and fellow photographer Doug Ohman.  We  began our conversation as usual, exchanging greetings and checking in on how each other was doing.  Doug always has something interesting going on or developing – so, often times when we talk on the phone I will grab a scrap of paper or note pad to write down his ideas, so that I can learn from them and try to improve my own photography on the business end. This time was no different.  When Doug said, “What do you think about this?” I reached for the nearest paper to write on. It happened to be the back of a piece of mail!  He went on to tell me about how he had been asked by a group to follow them out to Gettysburg for the 150th Anniversary, and would I like to join him.

You bet I would, I was thinking as Doug told me what he knew about it.  There would be a bus ride, battlefield visits, special speakers, museum visits, etc.  I was  hooked.  We would be documenting the trip to Gettysburg and the First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry’s role there with our cameras.

I went right into research mode, searching the internet for information. I read “Killer Angels” and watched the DVD of “Gettysburg”.  Actually the research had begun a couple years earlier without me knowing about this this opportunity.

Two Summers ago I was at a family reunion down by Spicer, MN, we were at a swimming beach watching the kids swim and trying to cool off.  We happened to be sitting by a big iron sign that was some sort of historical marker.  Since I was sitting right there, I decided to read it.  The sign told about a skirmish that happened on that spot nearly 150 years ago between some pioneer settlers and some Dakota warriors.  That information really captured my imagination and led to two years of study on the U.S. – Dakota War of 1862.  The study of that led to a study of pieces of the Civil War…and now, here I am going to Gettysburg for the 150 year anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg.  Check out my photo gallery for pictures of some of these adventures.

Leave a Reply

